Facebook Privacy Policy Changes? Don’t Fall For The Hoax Again

image

It might look something like this:

Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you’ve ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook’s privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. Copy and paste to be on the safe side

It’s actually a hoax that has been around — and debunked — for a while.

The idea is that Facebook users must post the status so that their pictures and information still belong to them. But in truth, anything posted to Facebook belongs to the user, regardless of any status update.

“We have noticed some statements that suggest otherwise, and we wanted to take a moment to remind you of the facts: When you post things like photos to Facebook, we do not own them,” Facebook spokesman Andrew Noyes said in a statement last year.

“Under our terms, you grant Facebook permission to use, distribute and share the things you post, subject to the terms and applicable privacy settings.”

Also, as Snopes noted, Facebook users cannot negate copyright or privacy settings by posting a status.

If people don’t want their personal information online, they should manually change their privacy settings or scrub their accounts and abandon social media.

This is a hoax that pops up from time to time, so don’t be fooled again. Chances are, the rumor will circulate again.

© IB Times

Advertisements

Comments

One Ping

  1. Pingback:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Loading…

0

Comments

0 comments

What do you think?

25 points
Upvote Downvote

Finally Out: 93 Days – First Ever Movie On Ebola In Nigeria… Watch Trailer

Herdsmen Attack: Enugu Catholic Bishop Blasts Security Agencies