Champions League, Group C, Baki Olympiya Stadionu – Qarabag FK 0 Chelsea 4 (Hazard P 21′, Willian 36′, 85′, Fabregas P 73′)
Chelsea qualified for the last 16 of the Champions League with a comfortable 4-0 win over FK Qarabag on Wednesday.
The hosts started well but any hopes they had of causing an upset were dashed when Qarabag captain Rashad Sadygov was deemed to have fouled Willian in the penalty box. Sadygov was sent-off and Eden Hazard calmly dispatched the penalty.
Willian then doubled the lead when he finished off a glorious team move and Cesc Fabregas made it three in the second-half with another penalty.
Late on Willian got his second when he burst forward and then smashed it home from the edge of the area.
Did the referee get the first penalty incident right? The short answer is yes. Sadygov fouled Willian – he pulled him back – and did that in the area so it was a penalty. He was also the last man and prevented a clear goalscoring opportunity without making an attempt to win the ball, so had to go. It may seem harsh given how little contact there was, but those are the rules.