Ballon d’Or 2017: Cristiano Ronaldo claims historic fifth

Real Madrid and Portugal star Cristiano Ronaldo has won the 2017 Ballon d’Or, his fourth win in five years and fifth overall, drawing him level with his great rival Lionel Messi.

Ronaldo, 32, received the award from France Football at a ceremony at the Eiffel Tower in Paris as he drew level in the all-time stakes with Messi, who by 2012 had won four Ballons d’Or to Ronaldo’s one.

Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff and Marco van Basten are the next closest challengers with three wins apiece in football’s most prestigious individual award. But Ronaldo’s triumph extends his and Messi’s unbroken spell of dominance to an entire decade.

The 2017 Ballon d’Or was recognition for a year which saw Ronaldo named man of the match in Real Madrid’s Champions League final victory over Juventus, his fourth European Cup win, as well as collecting his second Liga trophy.

On Wednesday night, he became the first player to ever score in all six matches in the Champions League group stage.

A decade of dominance at the Ballon d’Or

2008: Ronaldo
2009: Messi
2010: Messi
2011: Messi
2012: Messi
2013: Ronaldo
2014: Ronaldo
2015: Messi
2016: Ronaldo
2017: Ronaldo


Be the first to comment on this

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s