Instagram is testing screenshot alerts for IG stories

Getty Image

Instagram is testing a new feature that alerts users every time someone takes a snapshot of their story. This already existed for private messages, but promises to revolutionize the platform when people start getting into trouble for saving a photo that should expire in 24 hours.

The first thing you should know is that Instagram is not going to stab you in the back: the application will warn you politely before it alert others about your misdeeds.

Instagram will warn you before sending a notification to the person who shared the story.

The warning reads: The next time you make a screenshot or screen recording, the person who posted the story will be able to see.

Once you have seen this message, there is no going back: if you record a story, the person who posted it will see the icon of a shutter next to your username in the statistics of that story.

How posters will be notified when another takes a screenshot of their stories

The icon will appear whether you make a traditional screen capture or if you record the screen, for example, with the native iOS 11 screen recorder of

However, there are still ways you can screenshoot an Instagram Stories without a notification to the poster.

Specific applications have already appeared (and will continue to appear) to record Instagram stories without notifying the user, but you do not need to download anything. Simply put the phone in airplane mode before opening the story. You will only be able to access the two stories that Instagram loads in cache before being forced to reactivate the connection, but it is enough time for your purposes.

A more reliable option, if you have access to a desktop computer or a laptop, is to view the story in question from a desktop browser. You will need to be logged in with your account to open the history of any user (even if it is public), but it is impossible for Instagram to know that you are recording the screen or making screenshots if you do it from Windows or macOS.